Scientific Committee

This vital work gives hope to so many families.

Children’s Liver Disease Foundation’s Scientific Committee is an eminent body of leading medical professionals which assesses the research grant applications made to the Foundation and reviews how research projects are progressing.

Committee members:

  • Professor Salim Khakoo, Professor of Hepatology, Southampton General Hospital
  • Professor Richard Thompson, Consultant Paediatric Hepatologist, King’s College Hospital, London
  • Dr Julien Baruteau , MRC Clinician Scientist Fellow at UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
  • Professor Humphrey Hodgson, Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University College London
  • Dr Jane L Hartley, Consultant Paediatric Hepatologist, Birmingham Children’s Hospital
  • Dr Marumbo Mtegha, Consultant Paediatric Hepatologist, Leeds Children’s Hospital
  • Dr Douglas Thorburn, Clinical Director for Liver Transplantation and Hepatology, Royal Free Hospital, London
  • Dr Luke Boulter, Chancellor’s Fellow and Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellow, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Rachel Tayler, Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow
  • Ms Lindsay Hogg, Clinical Nurse Specialist Team Leader, Birmingham Children’s Hospital
  • Mr Hector Vilca-Melendez, Consultant Transplant Surgeon, King’s College Hospital, London
  • Dr Eirini (Serena) Kyrana, Clinical Senior Lecturer in paediatric hepatology, King’s College London